FAQ'S FIRE PROTECTION DAMPER TECHNICIAN

- What is the first thing I need to do to get a Fire Protection Damper Technician license?
 ANSWER: You must first obtain your HVAC Technician License from the West Virginia Division of Labor.
- 2. How do I contact the West Virginia Division of Labor?

ANSWER: (304) 558-7890 Ext. 10473 or (304) 356-3928

www.wvlabor.com Licensing@wv.gov

3. What do I need to do to get my Fire Protection Damper Technician license?

ANSWER:

Applicant is a least eighteen years of age.

Have an HVAC Technician License issued by the West Virginia Division of Labor. Supply proof of passing the West Virginia State Fire Marshal's Fire/Smoke Damper Technician Test.

Fill out an application for "Licensure for Fire Protection Workers"

Request for Certification as a "Fire Protection Damper Technician"

Applicant shall pay all applicable fees.

4. What do I need to do to get my Fire Protection Damper Technician In-Training license?

ANSWER:

Applicant is a least eighteen years of age and shall provide documentation that he or she is enrolled in a training program.

Fill out an application for "Licensure for Fire Protection Workers"

Request for Certification as a "Fire Protection Damper Technician In-Training"

Applicant shall pay all applicable fees.

5. What are the applicable fees?

ANSWER:

Pay a \$25.00 NON-REFUNDABLE APPLICATION FEE FOR EACH NEW APPLICATION

Fire Protection Damper Technician – License Fee One Year <u>\$50.00</u> or License Fee Three Years <u>\$100.00</u>
Fire Protection Damper Technician In-Training - License Fee One Year <u>\$25.00</u> or License Fee Three
Years *\$50.00*

6. What is a Fire Protection Damper Technician?

ANSWER: "Fire Protection Damper Technician" means a person certified to install, test, maintain, or repair a damper.

7. What is a Fire Protection Damper Technician In-Training?

ANSWER: "Fire Protection Damper Technician In-Training" means a person with interest in and an aptitude for performing installation, maintenance, or repair work to a damper as defined by this rule, but who alone is not capable or authorized to perform damper work unless directly supervised by a Fire Protection Damper Technician.

FAQ'S FIRE PROTECTION DAMPER TECHNICIAN

8. What is a Damper?

ANSWER: "Damper" shall mean a fire damper, smoke damper, or combination fire/smoke damper.

9. When did this license requirement start?

ANSWER: January 1, 2016 (Title 103 Series 3 effective date was July 1, 2015)

10. Reciprocity?

ANSWER: NO!

11. What are the penalties if I don't get a license?

ANSWER: Any person engaged in fire protection work or damper work is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, is subject to the following penalties:

- (1) For the first offense, a fine of not less than \$200 nor more than \$1000;
- (2) For the second offense, a fine of not less than <u>\$500</u> nor more than <u>\$2,000</u>, or confinement in jail for not more the six months, or both;
- (3) For the third and subsequent offenses, a fine of not less than **\$1,000** nor more than **\$5,000**, and confinement in jail for not less than thirty days nor more than one year.
- 12. Is there a test?

ANSWER: Yes

13. How many questions?

ANSWER: 25

14. What do I need to study?

ANSWER: NFPA 80 & NFPA 90A

15. Is it an open book test?

ANSWER: Yes

16. What can I bring to the test?

ANSWER: Only NFPA 80 & NFPA 90A No notes of any kind.

17. Where will the test be held?

ANSWER: The test will be given with the electrical tests.

In Charleston, Wheeling, Clarksburg and Martinsburg

FAQ'S FIRE PROTECTION DAMPER TECHNICIAN

18. Do I need both the HVAC Electricians licenses and the Fire Protection Damper Technician license?

ANSWER: NO

"Specialty Electrician License" – means a person qualified to perform electrical work in a limited or specialized area.

HVAC Specialty Electrician License authorizes the licensee to install, maintain, or repair electric wiring or devices only directly related to HVAC equipment:

Shall be electrically isolated from the building wiring system by an overcurrent protective isolating device, such as a fused switch or circuit breaker, that

- (a) has been installed, complete with line-side connections, by a master or journeyman electrician;
- (b) is permanently and legibly marked to identify the equipment served by the device; and
- (c) is located within an enclosure intended solely for, and limited to, serving the specific heating, and air conditioning equipment involved, or is located within a panel-board that serves the building wiring system and is likewise permanently and legibly marked to identify the equipment served by the device, provided the wiring is installed by a master or journeyman electrician from the load-side terminals of the device to a junction box, auxiliary gutter, or similar disconnecting means located outside the panelboard, but in sight of and within 50 feet of, heating, or air conditioning equipment served;
- (d) originates at the load-side terminals of the protective isolating device;
- (e) except for control wiring, is physically adjacent to the heating, and air conditioning equipment involved and is in sight of and not more than 50 feet from the equipment. Control wiring that receives its control power from the heating, and air conditioning equipment involved may extend beyond these limits if the control voltage does not exceed 120 volts to ground and the wiring is protected from overcurrent; and
- (f) is not installed in a location considered as hazardous under the National Electrical Code.

"Fire Protection Damper Technician" - means a person certified to install, test, maintain, or repair a damper.

Fire Protection Damper Technician license only authorizes the licensee to install, test, maintain, or repair a damper.

If you are only install the HVAC system with no "DAMPERS" you only need the HVAC Technician license from the West Virginia Division of Labor and HVAC Specialty Electrician License from the WVSFMO.

If you are installing the HVAC system with "DAMPERS" you will need the HVAC Technician license from the West Virginia Division of Labor, HVAC Specialty Electrician License from the WVSFMO and Fire Protection Damper Technician from the WVSFMO.

If you are installing the HVAC system and not performing any electrical work you only need the HVAC Technician license from the West Virginia Division of Labor and Fire Protection Damper Technician from the WVSFMO.