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INSTRUCTIONS AND APPLICATION FORM FOR THE 

WEST VIRGINIA ELECTRICAL INSPECTOR CERTIFICATION 
 

• Include your completed legible application form. 

• Include a copy of your valid West Virginia Master Electrician License. 

• Include Certificate of Passing the applicable National Certification for Construction Code Inspectors: 
o Inspector - Class A – Residential Only:   Test  E1 

o Inspector - Class B – All Structures:    Test  E1 & E2 

o Inspector - Class C – All Structures + Plans Review: Test  E1 & E2 & E3 

• Exam Administrator: 

o International Code Council – 1-888-ICC-SAFE (422-7233); website www.iccsafe.org. 

• Provide a copy of a valid WV business license issued by the WV Department of Tax and Revenue. 

• Provide proof of professional liability insurance (errors and omissions) in the amount of no less than 
$1,000,000.00.  

• Provide proof of general liability insurance in the amount of no less than $750,000.00. 

• Include payment via Check or Money Order payable to “WVSFMO” for $100.00.  Do Not Send Cash 
 

Renewal:  Certification will come up for renewal every year. Renewal notices are mailed approximately 90 

days prior to the expiration date. It is the licensee’s responsibility to ensure renewal of the certification. Please 

contact the division if you have a change of address. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not excuse non-

renewal. Renewal fee is $100.00. 

 

Continuing Education Requirement:  In order to qualify for renewal each licensee shall complete a 

minimum of 14 continuing education units every year upon renewal of his or her license. 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.firemarshal.wv.gov/
http://www.iccsafe.org/


 

Application for West Virginia Electrical Inspector Certification 
Be sure to complete all sections of this application in print and legible. 

1. Applicant Personal Information - Please complete ALL fields.  

Name (Last, First, M Int)    

Mailing Address  
 

 

Home Phone    Cell Phone  

Valid Email Address  Last 4 of SS# X X X – X X - ___ ___ ___ ___ 

Employer Name  Work Phone  

Master License #  Date of Birth  

 

2. Insurance Information - Submit a copy of your “Certificate of Insurance” with your 

application. 

⃝ I carry the required amount of Professional and Liability insurance. 

Insurance Agent: Phone Number: 

⃝ My employer carries the required amount of Professional and Liability insurance. 

You must submit letter of employment stating the company carries the required insurance. 

 

3. Request for Certification as: please check all boxes which apply  

Electrical Inspector Class A – One and Two Family Dwellings Only □ 

Electrical Inspector Class B – All Structures □ 

Electrical Inspector Class C – All Structures and Plans Review □ 

 

4. Affidavit Statement 

By signing this application, I swear and affirm that the required documentation and information submitted in and with this 
application is true in every respect. I fully understand that any false or misleading information may result in denial of licensure 
or revocation of any license obtained by providing false information. I also fully understand that by submitting fraudulent 
documentation or information, that I may face other penalties under law. I hereby give permission to the Office of The West 
Virginia State Fire Marshal to contact any employer or school provided on this application to verify the information provided by 
the applicant is accurate. Being qualified, according to the provisions of Chapter 29, Article 3C, Code of West Virginia, I hereby 
make application for licensure.  

 Signature  Date   
 


