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Instructions and Information on obtaining a West Virginia Explosives Permit 

 

1. Please complete the application printed legibly in pen or using a computer. 

 

2. Processing of your application will be delayed if this application is incomplete.   

 

3. Submission of the application does not authorize the applicant to engage in the requested activity. 

You must obtain the actual permit before commencing operations. Please submit your application 

at least 30 days prior to your planned start of operations. 

 

4. A separate application is required for each property on which explosives are stored. 

 

5. All requirements of NFPA 495, Explosive Materials Code, must be complied with 

 

6. If you obtain a manufacturing license, you are not required to obtain a separate dealer’s license. 

 

7. With this application you must submit a copy of your WV business license, current workers 

compensation insurance coverage, current general liability insurance coverage, a copy of your 

federal ATF permit, a site map clearly indicating the location of any and all magazines in reference 

to any landmarks or roadways, signed affidavit that all employees with access to explosives are 

proficiently trained and compliant with all federal and local licensing laws, a list of all individuals 

(including last 4 of soc.sec.#s) with access to explosives. 

 

8. If your application is approved, you will receive an invoice via email. You will then submit the 

invoice with the appropriate fee and will receive your explosive permit via email. If the application 

is denied, we will advise in writing the reason(s) for denial.   

 

9. Definitions: 

 

Manufacturing:  Engaging in business of manufacturing explosive materials for purpose of sale or 

distribution or for his / her own use. 

 

Dealer: Engaging in business of distributing explosive materials at wholesale or retail 

 

Storage: Any explosive material that will be stored overnight in West Virginia. 

 Day-boxes, Wet-hole Trailers and other temporary storage magazines do not have 

to be registered with the State Fire Marshal  
 

  

 



 

 

  

 
Application for a West Virginia Explosives Permit   

Be sure to complete all sections of this application in print and legible.  

Please read the instructions carefully before completing the application 

Company Name  

Subsidiary of  (if applicable)  

dba (if different from above)  

Company Address  
 

City  State  ZIP  

Job Site in WV   

Storage Address  

 City  State  ZIP  

 

Main Purpose of Blasting   __   Construction        ___ Coal                  ___ Utility       ___ Wells      ____ Excavation     

__   Demolition           ___  Pyrotechnics    ___  other (specify): ___________________ 

The person named below represents the company as applicant 

Name (First, M., Last)  Title  

Phone  Fax  

Cell Phone  e-mail  

Last 4 SS#  X  X  X  -  X  X  -   Date of Birth  

Driver’s License No  State of Issue  

Check the type of explosives permit your company is applying for 

□ Dealer state wide   $ 500.00 

□ Manufacturer  state wide   $ 1,000.00 

□ Storage magazine $ 100.00 each 

Office Use Only 

 



 

Please be aware that there is an additional non-refundable $ 40.00 application review fee  

 

Has your company ever been disciplined in any state for improper blasting 
procedures? (if yes, please explain) 

___ yes                  ___ no 

Do all employees that physically come in touch with explosive materials have 
a current ATF clearance for use of explosives? 

___ yes                  ___ no 

If transporting explosive materials in commerce:  Are you in compliance with 
D.O.T.? 

___ yes                  ___ no 

For Dealers only: 

Do you check for proper permits before releasing explosives to any buyer?  
___ yes                  ___ no 

For Manufacturing only:  

Anticipated quantity of explosives to be manufactured 
___ lbs    monthly / annually(circle one) 

For Manufacturing only:  

DOT classification of explosives to be manufactured 

Check all that apply 

 

__ 1.1      __ 1.2      __ 1.3     __ 1.4      __ 1.5     __ 1.6 

Any false information provided in this application may result in revocation of the permit 

 

List all employees with direct access to explosive materials:  (attach separate sheet if needed) 

Please make sure that all employees actively loading and setting off explosives are licensed through the State Fire Marshal’s Office 

 

                     Name                        Last 4 Soc.Sec. No                     Date of Birth 

   

   

   

   

   

 

Operation Premises are    О owned      О leased О other (specify) ______________ 

Hours of Operations: 

Time Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday 

Open        

Close        

 

Affidavit 

This application and the information contained here-in are true and correct. I am aware that any false statements made herein may 
result in revocation of my license and may be subject to criminal proceedings in accordance with West Virginia State Code. I am aware 
that I must obey all blasting procedures in accordance with NFPA 495 and failure to do so may result in receiving citations issued by 
the WV State Fire Marshal.  

Signature  Date  

 



MAGAZINE DATA SHEET  

 
(please complete one for each magazine that is currently storing explosive materials at this site) 

 

 

IMPORTANT REMINDER: 

 

In accordance with West Virginia State Fire Code and NFPA 495 Sec. 9.7.2, all magazines containing explosive materials 

shall be opened and inspected at least every three days. Any loss, theft or unlawful removal of explosives shall be reported 

within 24 hours to the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, the West Virginia State Fire Marshal’s Office 

and the local law enforcement agency. 

 

 

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE THE INFORMATION LEGIBLY: 

 

Company Permit Number  

Magazine Id  Number  

Magazine Location i.e. Grassy Creek, Marianna Mine, etc  
 

 

Unique GPS coordinates for this magazine*  

Magazine Construction Type Number                    ___ indoor ____ outdoor 

Magazine Owner  

Explosive Type stored in this unit ___ Dynamite           ___ Cast Booster   ___ Slurry / Water Gel 

___ Black Powder     ___ Detonators     ___ Det Cord 

___ Safety Fuse         ___ Igniters            ___ Electric Squibs 

___ Blasting Agents  ___ Emulsion         ___ Propellants 

 

Actual Amount of Explosives in this unit ____________________ lbs      __________________ cases 

 

Signature  Date  

Name & Title   

 

 

 

*    GPS COORDINATES MUST BE IN NAD83 FORMAT. 

 

      To obtain the NDA83 format, you may visit any website that will convert Longitude and Latitude         components into 

the proper format. Example website: www.apsalin.com/nad-conversion.aspx 

 


