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APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS AND APPLICATION FORM FOR THE 

WEST VIRGINIA HOME INSPECTOR CERTIFICATION 

 

• You must include a completed, dated and signed application form. 

• You must provide a criminal record report (background check) with fingerprints from both the 

WV State Police and the F.B.I.  

The WVSFMO will not process fingerprint cards. You will need to use a third-party vendor such 

as Identogo for the checks. Results will be sent directly to you. You will then send your results 

in with the application form.  

Identogo: www.identogo.com or call 1-855-766-7746 (There is no service code) 

• Please provide proof of general liability insurance of no less than $ 250,000.00. 

• You must provide verification of passing the following exam:  The National Home Inspector 

Exam through EBPHI.  Contact:  www.homeinspectionexam.org or 1-847-298-7750 

• You must provide proof of completion of an approved 80-hour initial Home Inspection Course 

approved for West Virginia.  A list of approved courses can be found at: 

https://firemarshal.wv.gov/Divisions/Fire%20Services/Documents/Licensing/HI%20Approve%20Certific

ation%20Course%20List.pdf 

• Include a copy of a High School Diploma or GED.  

• Include a copy of valid West Virginia business license issued by the: 

West Virginia Department of Tax and Revenue. 

• Include a Check or Money Order payable to “WVSFMO” for $150.00.  Do Not Include CASH 

 

SUBMIT THE APPLICATION FORM, ALL REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION AND LICENSE FEE TO 

THE WVSFMO’S OFFICE. 

 

 

For further information, please dial 304-558-2191 and ask to speak with the Licensing Division. 
 

http://www.firemarshal.wv.gov/
http://www.identogo.com/
http://www.homeinspectionexam.org/
https://firemarshal.wv.gov/Divisions/Fire%20Services/Documents/Licensing/HI%20Approve%20Certification%20Course%20List.pdf
https://firemarshal.wv.gov/Divisions/Fire%20Services/Documents/Licensing/HI%20Approve%20Certification%20Course%20List.pdf


 

Application for West Virginia Home Inspector Certification 
Be sure to complete all sections of this application in print and legible. 

1. Applicant Personal Information - Please complete ALL fields.  

Name  

(Last, First, M Int) 

   

Mailing Address  
 

 

Home Phone    Cell Phone  

Valid Email Address  WV Tax ID #  

Business Name  Work Phone  

Social Security 
Number 

(Required by Law) 

 

__ __ __ X __ __ X __ __ __ __ 

Date of Birth 

XX/XX/XXX 

 

 

 

2. Personal History - If you answer any of these questions with yes, include an 

explanation on a separate piece of paper and attach it with your application.  

Have you ever been convicted or entered a guilty plea or no contest to any 
felony? 

□ yes        □ no 

Do you currently have any criminal charges pending against you in any 
jurisdiction? 

□ yes        □ no 

Have there ever been any disciplinary actions or complaints lodged against 
you as a home inspector in any state or jurisdiction? 

□ yes        □ no 

Have you ever been denied licensure as a home inspector by any state or 
jurisdiction? 

□ yes        □ no 

You must submit the required criminal background check reports with your 
application! 

 

 

 

 



3. Insurance Information - Submit a copy of your “Certificate of Insurance” with your 

application. 

I carry the required amount ($250,000) of liability insurance. 

Insurance Agent: Phone Number: 

My employer carries the required amount ($250,000) of liability insurance. 

You must submit letter of employment stating the company carries the required insurance. 

 

 

4. Affidavit Statement 

By signing this application, I swear and affirm that the required documentation and information 
submitted in and with this application is true in every respect. I fully understand that any false or 
misleading information may result in denial of licensure or revocation of any license obtained by 
providing false information. I also fully understand that by submitting fraudulent documentation or 
information, that I may face other penalties under law. I hereby give permission to the Office of The 
West Virginia State Fire Marshal to contact any employer or school provided on this application to 
verify the information provided by the applicant is accurate. Being qualified, according to the provisions 
of Title 87, Series 5, Code of West Virginia, I hereby make application for licensure.  

  

 Signature  Date   

 

 


