
FAQ’s FIRE PROTECTION DAMPER TECHNICIAN 
 

1. What is the first thing I need to do to get a Fire Protection Damper Technician license? 

ANSWER: You must first obtain your HVAC Technician License from the West Virginia Division of 

Labor. 

 

2. How do I contact the West Virginia Division of Labor? 

ANSWER: (304) 558-7890 Ext. 10473 or (304) 356-3928 

     www.wvlabor.com 

     Licensing@wv.gov 

 

3. What do I need to do to get my Fire Protection Damper Technician license? 

ANSWER: 

Applicant is a least eighteen years of age. 

Have an HVAC Technician License issued by the West Virginia Division of Labor. Supply proof of 

passing the West Virginia State Fire Marshal’s Fire/Smoke Damper Technician Test or submits 

copies of current certificates pertaining to their license. From January 1, 2016 to July 1, 2016 in 

lieu of testing the applicant may provide a sworn affidavit which demonstrates he or she meets 

the minimum experience requirements. 

Fill out an application for “Licensure for Fire Protection Workers” 

Request for Certification as a “Fire Protection Damper Technician” 

Applicant shall pay all applicable fees. 

 

4. What do I need to do to get my Fire Protection Damper Technician In-Training license? 

ANSWER: 

Applicant is a least eighteen years of age and shall provide documentation that he or she is 

enrolled in a training program. 

Fill out an application for “Licensure for Fire Protection Workers” 

Request for Certification as a “Fire Protection Damper Technician In-Training” 

Applicant shall pay all applicable fees. 

 

5. What are the applicable fees? 

ANSWER: 

Pay a $ 25.00 NON-REFUNDABLE APPLICATION FEE FOR EACH NEW APPLICATION  

Fire Protection Damper Technician – License Fee One Year $50.00 or License Fee Three Years $100.00 

Fire Protection Damper Technician In-Training - License Fee One Year $25.00 or License Fee Three 

Years $50.00 

          

6. What is a Fire Protection Damper Technician? 

ANSWER: “Fire Protection Damper Technician” means a person certified to install, test, 

maintain, or repair a damper. 

 

7. What is a Fire Protection Damper Technician In-Training? 

ANSWER: “Fire Protection Damper Technician In-Training” means a person with interest in and 

an aptitude for performing installation, maintenance, or repair work to a damper as defined by 

this rule, but who alone is not capable or authorized to perform damper work unless directly 

supervised by a Fire Protection Damper Technician. 

http://www.wvlabor.com/
mailto:Licensing@wv.gov
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8. What is a Damper? 

ANSWER: “Damper” shall mean a fire damper, smoke damper, or combination fire/smoke 

damper. 

 

9. When did this license requirement start? 

ANSWER: January 1, 2016 (Title 103 Series 3 effective date was July 1, 2015) 

 

10. Reciprocity? 

ANSWER: NO! 

 

11. What are the penalties if I don’t get a license? 

ANSWER: Any person engaged in fire protection work or damper work is guilty of a 

misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, is subject to the following penalties: 

(1) For the first offense, a fine of not less than $200 nor more than $1000; 

(2) For the second offense, a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $2,000, or confinement in 

jail for not more the six months, or both; 

(3) For the third and subsequent offenses, a fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000, 

and confinement in jail for not less than thirty days nor more than one year. 

 

12. Is there a test? 

ANSWER: Yes 

 

13. How many questions? 

ANSWER: 25 

 

14. What do I need to study? 

ANSWER: NFPA 80 & NFPA 90A 

 

15. Is it an open book test? 

ANSWER: Yes 

 

16. What can I bring to the test? 

ANSWER: Only NFPA 80 & NFPA 90A  

     No notes of any kind. 

 

17. Where will the test be held? 

ANSWER: The test will be given with the electrical tests. 

     In Charleston, Wheeling, Clarksburg and Martinsburg 
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18. Do I need both the HVAC Electricians licenses and the Fire Protection Damper Technician 

license? 

ANSWER: NO 

“Specialty Electrician License” – means a person qualified to perform electrical work in a limited 

or specialized area.  

 

HVAC Specialty Electrician License authorizes the licensee to install, maintain, or repair electric 

wiring or devices only directly related to HVAC equipment: 

 

Shall be electrically isolated from the building wiring system by an overcurrent protective 

isolating device, such as a fused switch or circuit breaker, that 

(a) has been installed, complete with line-side connections, by a master or journeyman 

electrician;  

(b) is permanently and legibly marked to identify the equipment served by the device; and  

(c) is located within an enclosure intended solely for, and limited to, serving the specific heating, 

and air conditioning equipment involved, or is located within a panel-board that serves the 

building wiring system and is likewise permanently and legibly marked to identify the equipment 

served by the device, provided the wiring is installed by a master or journeyman electrician from 

the load-side terminals of the device to a junction box, auxiliary gutter, or similar disconnecting 

means located outside the panelboard, but in sight of and within 50 feet of, heating, or air 

conditioning equipment served;  

(d) originates at the load-side terminals of the protective isolating device;  

(e) except for control wiring, is physically adjacent to the heating, and air conditioning 

equipment involved and is in sight of and not more than 50 feet from the equipment. Control 

wiring that receives its control power from the heating, and air conditioning equipment involved 

may extend beyond these limits if the control voltage does not exceed 120 volts to ground and 

the wiring is protected from overcurrent; and  

(f) is not installed in a location considered as hazardous under the National Electrical Code. 

 

“Fire Protection Damper Technician” - means a person certified to install, test, maintain, or 

repair a damper. 

 

Fire Protection Damper Technician license only authorizes the licensee to install, test, maintain, 

or repair a damper. 

 

If you are only install the HVAC system with no “DAMPERS” you only need the HVAC Technician 

license from the West Virginia Division of Labor and HVAC Specialty Electrician License from the 

WVSFMO. 

If you are installing the HVAC system with “DAMPERS” you will need the HVAC Technician 

license from the West Virginia Division of Labor, HVAC Specialty Electrician License from the 

WVSFMO and Fire Protection Damper Technician from the WVSFMO. 

If you are installing the HVAC system and not performing any electrical work you only need the 

HVAC Technician license from the West Virginia Division of Labor and Fire Protection Damper 

Technician from the WVSFMO. 


